If you've been charged with a DUI, you'll want a trusted Commerce, Georgia DUI attorney on your side. While you may think they're only helpful in the courtroom, they can help inform you on the trial process, potentially prevent your license from getting suspended, and much more. If you need a lawyer who can help you with all these things, call Brett Willis Law today.
What Is a DUI in Commerce?
A DUI charge begins when an officer perceives that you are driving recklessly. After pulling you over, they may subject you to a breathalyzer test and sobriety tests such as walking in a straight line. They do this to see if you are under the influence of alcohol or drugs. Depending on how you do on the tests, they may charge you with a DUI and send you to jail.
First Steps After a DUI Charge
We understand that it can be easy to panic after a DUI charge. What should you do? How do you prepare for your case? Follow these two simple steps to put your mind at ease:
1. Take it Easy
If you're charged with a DUI in Commerce, GA, the very first thing that you need to do is go easy on yourself in the first 24 hours. You've been through a tremendously traumatic experience. Most people who are charged with a DUI have never been arrested before and have never been treated this way by the police or the government. We understand that it can be unsettling. Take time for yourself to process your situation.
2. Find a Trusted Commerce, Georgia DUI Attorney
The next thing you need to do is find a local lawyer that you trust. Reach out to someone who specializes in DUI law and have that person walk you through everything. They should tell you what's going to come next, prepare you for it, and guide you through this process so you don't have to worry anymore.
If you want a lawyer you can rely on, contact Brett Willis Law today for a free consultation.
Why You Need the Right DUI Lawyer in Commerce, Georgia
If you don't get the right lawyer for your Commerce DUI, you'll know it because of how you feel. This is especially true if you don't get any lawyer at all. The reason why you need a trusted Commerce, Georgia DUI attorney is for your peace of mind. You're looking to know, “I've got the right person in my corner.” You should trust that this lawyer can make your arguments for you and give you the best chance of getting acquitted. You should know that this lawyer believes in you and your case. Once you have that, you can rest easy.
What Are the Fees for Hiring a Commerce, Georgia DUI Attorney?
We get this question a lot, “What does it cost to hire you?” This is an understandable question for budgetary reasons. Still, we always encourage people to ask a different question first: “What will a DUI cost me?” Many people do not realize the extent of the ramifications that a DUI can have on someone's life. Both financially and future-wise, a DUI can turn your life upside-down.
There are many financial costs associated with DUIs. First, you'll have fines up to $1,000 for a first DUI, with a $300 minimum fine. After this, you'll need to attend a mandatory DUI risk reduction program, also known as DUI school. This costs $360 total. Then you'll have your license reinstatement fee. After your license is suspended for 120 days, you can go to the Department of Driver Services (DDS) and get your license reinstated. The cost of this is $200 by mail or $210 in-person.
A DUI can also impact your future more than you might realize. A DUI shows up on your criminal record, and it can affect future schooling and employment opportunities. If you had a dream graduate school in your mind, you might not get in solely because of your DUI charge. With jobs, the story is similar. Jobs that require driving will most likely not hire you.
Don't let your finances and future be impacted by a single DUI charge. Call Commerce, Georgia DUI attorney Brett Willis today for a free consultation.
Frequently Asked Questions
What Is the BAC Level and What Does It Mean?
BAC stands for blood alcohol concentration. A BAC test is typically conducted after an officer pulls you over for a DUI. If you're over the legal limit, you'll automatically be charged with a per se DUI. In Georgia, the legal limit is 0.08%. However, note that the BAC test is not everything. You could still be arrested for a DUI in some cases even if you're below the legal limit.
Can I Represent Myself in a DUI Case?
Yes, you can represent yourself in a DUI case, but the real question here is, “Should you?” DUI law is incredibly intricate. You may not know what topics or evidence to look into like an experienced DUI lawyer would. There may be chances to get acquitted or have your charges dismissed that you may miss out on if you self-represent. Considering the costs of a DUI conviction, this may not be something you're willing to afford.
How Long Will a DUI Stay on My Record?
DUIs stay on your record forever.
Can I Get a DUI if I'm Under the Influence of Prescription Drugs?
Yes, you can get a DUI for being under the influence of prescription drugs. Even if you have a valid prescription from a doctor, it doesn't mean you're immune from DUI charges. If the drug you're using impairs your driving in some way, then it is viewed no differently than driving under the influence of alcohol or marijuana.