If you've been charged with a DUI, you'll want to call a Braselton, Georgia DUI attorney as soon as possible. At Brett Willis Law, we're here to help. We understand that this is more than just a case for you — this is your life. Brett Willis has been defending clients since 2005 and specializes in DUI law. With him on your side, you can feel confident that your case is in good hands. Contact us today for a free consultation.
What Is a DUI in Braselton?
A DUI, or “driving under the influence,” is a serious offense in Braselton, Georgia. You can be charged with this if an officer suspects that you were driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs, endangering other drivers on the road. There are two main types of DUI charges, a per se DUI and a less safe DUI.
Per Se DUI
A per se DUI is what you're charged with when an officer has test results against you that show you were under the influence of alcohol or drugs. If the blood alcohol concentration (BAC) test shows that you were at or over the legal limit of 0.08%, you'll be charged with a per se DUI automatically. This is also true if test results show there were drugs in your system, although there is no legal limit.
Less Safe DUI
A less safe DUI is usually what you're charged with when an officer doesn't have test results against you. This could be because you refused the test or there was some kind of issue with the testing equipment. Circumstantial evidence can be used for a less safe DUI charge, like sobriety tests or any characteristics that an officer notices, like slurred speech.
Whether you've been charged with a less safe or per se DUI, you need the help of a Braselton, Georgia DUI attorney. Contact us today.
What You Should Do After a DUI Charge
If you're charged with a DUI in Braselton, the very first thing to do is reach out to a reputable DUI lawyer in Braselton to help you. Many who are charged with a DUI don't know that it's possible to save your license. If you find a lawyer within the next 30 days of being charged, then they'll be able to help you. They can send an appeal letter to the Department of Driver Services (DDS). If the appeal process is successful, then you'll be able to get your license back. Remember that 30 days is a hard limit, so one of the most important things you can do is call a Braselton, Georgia DUI attorney like Brett Willis as soon as possible.
What to Look for in a Braselton, Georgia DUI Attorney
When you have a DUI charge in Braselton, and you need an attorney, above all, you're looking for someone you can trust. You should be confident that your lawyer knows DUI law and DDS regulations. You should also find someone who can make your arguments for you and advocate for you in court. They should be able to make your arguments first to a prosecutor about why they should dismiss or reduce your charge. If that is unsuccessful, you need someone who can argue your innocence before six members of your local community.
Cost of a Braselton, Georgia DUI Attorney
The most common question we get is, “How much does it cost for a DUI in Braselton?” We always say that that's not quite the right question. The right question is, “What would it cost for you to get convicted of a DUI in Braselton?” The answer is: a ton. You're talking about:
- Court fines that could be $2,000-3,000
- The loss of a license
- Having to drive on a work permit
- Having a permanent criminal record for that DUI
- Higher insurance premiums
- Loss of employment (in some cases)
- And more
Overall, the costs are tremendous for a DUI conviction. That's why it's always vital to get the right DUI lawyer. Contact Braselton, Georgia DUI attorney Brett Willis today for a free consultation.
Frequently Asked Questions
How Do Plea Bargains Work for DUI Cases?
Plea bargains are a negotiation between the defense and prosecution. With a plea bargain, you have the option of pleading guilty to a lesser charge instead of a DUI. Most of the time, this lesser charge is for reckless driving, While it's still a misdemeanor charge, it doesn't come with as severe consequences as a DUI conviction would. For example, you'll only get points on your license instead of having your license suspended.
How Can I Find a Good DUI Lawyer?
Recommendations from friends and family and reviews of Braselton lawyers are two ways to find lawyers in Braselton, Georgia. Of course, when you find a lawyer, don't just pick the first one you hear about. Consult with them and see if they're a good option. Typically, you'll have a gut feeling that lets you know either way. If you feel like you can trust this person and like they know what they're talking about, and they have the experience to show for it, then they'll be a good option. Conversely, if you feel uneasy from the beginning, it's best to find a different lawyer. You want a lawyer who makes you feel safe throughout the process.
Will I Lose My Driver's License if I Get a DUI?
You will lose your driver's license if you get a DUI, but not forever. Your license will be suspended for a minimum of 120 days for a first DUI. After 120 days, you can get your license reinstated. You'll need to pay a license reinstatement fee to the Department of Driver Services, and you'll be able to get your license back.
How Much Jail Time Can I Face for a DUI Conviction?
The jail time you face for a DUI conviction depends on the ruling in the case and how many DUIs you've been convicted of in 10 years. The minimum amount of jail time for a first DUI is 24 hours, but it's possible to be in jail for longer than this. This minimum amount goes up for every subsequent DUI conviction. For a second DUI, you'll be in jail for at least 72 hours, and this increases to 15 days upon a third DUI conviction.