Following an arrest for a DUI, one of the most important things you can do is call a Baldwin, Georgia DUI attorney. At Brett Willis Law, we specialize in DUI law and can help with your case. Brett Willis has been working on cases since 2005 and has gotten many clients acquitted of DUI charges. Contact us today for a free consultation.
What Is a DUI in Baldwin?
DUI stands for “driving under the influence.” While people usually associate it with drunk driving, the truth is that you can get a DUI with many types of psychoactive substances, including aerosol spray, marijuana, pain medications, and more.
First Steps After a DUI Charge
If you're charged with a DUI in Baldwin, the very first thing you need to do is reach out to a lawyer who specializes in DUI law. One step that a lawyer can help you with is a time-sensitive license issue. You usually have about 30 days to save a license after a DUI arrest. If you don't do what needs to be done within those 30 days, particularly getting your lawyer to send a letter to the Department of Driver Services (DDS), it could have massive ramifications on your ability to drive. Because of this, you'll want to find a DUI lawyer as soon as possible. If you need a Baldwin, Georgia DUI attorney, contact us today.
The Importance of Finding the Right Baldwin, Georgia DUI Attorney
If you don't get the right lawyer and you're charged with a DUI in Baldwin, you're going to have issues as your case goes forward. You're going to know that you've made the right or wrong choice because of how you feel. When you hire the right lawyer for your Baldwin DUI, you should have peace of mind. You should know that you've got someone who is an advocate, believes in you, believes in your case, and is trustworthy.
When you first consult with a lawyer, always consider your gut feeling. Do you feel like they're listening to you and understanding your concerns? Are they able to answer any questions you might have with clear expertise? Do you feel relieved after speaking with them? These are the signs you should pay attention to before committing to a specific DUI lawyer for your case.
How Much Does a Baldwin, Georgia DUI Attorney Cost?
The most common question we get is, “How much does a DUI lawyer cost for a Baldwin DUI?” We always encourage people to ask a different question instead: “What's it going to cost me if I get a DUI conviction?” The answer to that is a ton.
You're going to face fines and court costs, which could total $2,000-3,000 upon being convicted. On top of that, you'll also have increased insurance premiums. When insurance companies see you as more of a risk, they always raise premiums. DUIs make you high-risk in the minds of insurers, and you may have to pay hundreds or even thousands of dollars extra annually that you wouldn't normally pay. One of the greatest financial costs of all, however, is potentially losing your employment. Jobs that require driving typically will not retain employees with a DUI.
Following a DUI charge, there are many things you'll need to spend time on to complete your sentence. 40 hours of community service, 24 hours in jail, 12 months of probation, are among them. In addition, you'll need to attend a DUI risk reduction program, more commonly known as “DUI school.” DUI school programs are approximately 20 hours and held in person. All of these costs can take time away from your job, loved ones, schoolwork, and other commitments you may have in life.
As the saying goes, “prevention is better than cure.” If you don't want to face all the costs associated with a DUI conviction, then it's best to find a lawyer who you can be confident in. You should feel like they're going to do everything in their power to get you acquitted so you can finally get your life back. Contact Brett Willis Law if you need a Baldwin, Georgia DUI attorney for your case.
Schedule Your Free Consultation
Frequently Asked Questions
Can I Still Get a DUI if I'm Below the Legal BAC Limit?
The BAC test, or blood alcohol concentration test, is an important factor in many DUI cases. If you're above the BAC limit, which is 0.08% in the state of Georgia, then you will be automatically charged with a per se DUI. If your BAC levels are below this amount, it is still possible to get charged with a DUI. This depends on the situation. If your BAC test shows it's below 0.08% but the officer believes the influence of alcohol is making your driving unsafe, they may charge you with a less safe DUI.
Another case where you could get a DUI charge regardless of BAC level is if you were on drugs. As long as you were on a substance that made your driving less safe than normal, you can get charged with a DUI.
What Happens if I Was Not Read My Miranda Rights During a DUI Arrest?
Miranda Rights are a protection against self-incrimination found in the Fifth Amendment of the Constitution. When an officer arrests you, they need to say “You have the right to remain silent. Anything you say can and will be used against you in a court of law.” They will also tell you that you have the right to an attorney, and if you can't pay for one, that one will be provided for you. This right to counsel is protected under the Sixth Amendment.
It is important to note that officers aren't always required to read your Miranda Rights. They only need to do so if they're going to question you. If they needed to read your Miranda Rights and did not, it's possible that some statements you made can't be used as evidence. In serious cases, the charges may be dismissed altogether. If an officer didn't read you your Miranda Rights, talk to a Baldwin, Georgia DUI attorney to see if this may impact your case.
Can a DUI Charge Be Expunged From My Record?
No, DUIs cannot be expunged from your record. Once you get convicted of a DUI, the charge follows you for life. Employers will be able to see it when they perform a criminal background check.
Can a DUI Charge Be Reduced to a Lesser Offense?
In some cases yes, DUIs can be reduced to a lesser offense. This happens through what's known as a plea bargain. This is where a prosecutor allows you to plead guilty for a different charge with less severe consequences. The charge DUIs are most often reduced to is reckless driving. Reckless driving is still a misdemeanor, but one major advantage is that your license won't be automatically suspended. Also, while your insurance premiums will still go up, it's less likely to be as high as they would with a DUI conviction.