For immediate assistance following a DUI arrest, it is crucial to reach out to a local Hall County Georgia DUI attorney like Brett Willis. With his extensive expertise of over 15 years in handling DUI cases, Brett Willis is dedicated to supporting you. He will work diligently to construct a convincing case to achieve the most favorable resolution possible. Get in touch with us today to schedule a free consultation.
What Is a DUI in Hall County?
A DUI, which stands for "driving under the influence," occurs when a driver exhibits unsafe behaviors and is pulled over by an officer. If the officer detects signs of drug or alcohol influence, they will proceed to arrest the individual for a DUI. There are two distinct types of DUI charges: per se DUI and less safe DUI. A per se DUI is filed when test results indicate that the driver's blood alcohol concentration (BAC) is at or above the legal limit of 0.08%. On the other hand, a less safe DUI does not rely on conclusive test results that prove the driver exceeded the BAC limit. This situation can arise when the driver refuses to undergo testing.
Why Get a Local Hall County, Georgia DUI Attorney?
If you don't get a local Hall County DUI lawyer, you may get someone from out of county or someone from another jurisdiction. They may not know the players, parties, core personnel, and personalities. They also may not know the intricacies of the local Hall County legal system, which could be a concern moving forward. Typically you want to have someone who is familiar with the local jurisdiction and has taken on cases here in Hall County.
What to Look For in a Hall County, Georgia DUI Attorney
The best Hall County DUI lawyers are ones that specialize in DUI law. They're reading cases as they come out so they're up to date on what's new. DUI law is always changing and evolving, so it takes a lot of effort and time to stay up to date. You want an expert who focuses their attention on DUI law. If you don't get a specialist, you could miss an issue that could win your case. If you need a lawyer who specializes in DUI law, contact Brett Willis today.
Cost of a DUI Conviction
A DUI lawyer in Hall County and really any county in Georgia can be an expensive undertaking. There was an old billboard in Atlanta that was up for years and read, “You just blew $10,000.”
What they were what they were talking about was the cost of a DUI, not necessarily the lawyer.The cost of a DUI is tremendous even taking the lawyer out of it.
Financial Cost of a DUI
First of all, you're going to be required to get what's called SR-22 insurance for at least three years in Georgia. You wouldn't normally have to have that kind of insurance unless you have a DUI. You're also going to pay at least $300 up to $1,000 in fines, probation fees, which could be around $40 or $50 a month, court costs which could come out to $300-400 per case, $360 for a risk reduction DUI class that you'll have to take.
Time Cost of a DUI
Besides financial costs, a DUI will also cost your time. You have to complete 40 hours of community service, a minimum of 24 hours in jail, and a 20-hour DUI risk reduction course.
Considering all these costs, it's important to find an experienced lawyer who can take on your case and fight for the best possible outcome, whether that's getting your case dismissed or getting you fully acquitted. Contact Brett Willis Law today for assistance.
Frequently Asked Questions
Do First Time DUI Offenders Go to Jail in Hall County?
Yes, all DUI offenders regardless of how many they're convicted of will receive a mandatory minimum jail sentence. First time DUI offenders will spend a minimum of 24 hours in jail, which includes the time they spent in jail after their arrest. The maximum sentence varies widely from this number at 12 months, which is why it's important to have an experienced DUI lawyer on your side who can advocate for the best possible outcome.
Does a DUI Show Up on a Background Check?
Yes, DUIs do show up on background checks. A DUI will always result in a permanent criminal record. There is no way to get it expunged or have the records restricted. However, the lookback period for DUI convictions is 10 years, so it won't continue to adversely affect your career forever.
How Many Points Is a UIi?
DUIs are unlike other driving charges because they don't actually put points on your license. Instead, your license gets immediately suspended following a DUI charge. If you contact a lawyer within 30 days of your arrest, they'll be able to send an appeal letter to stop the automatic suspension of your license. If this motion is successful, you'll get back your license without any additional points on it. If you surpass this 30-day window, you'll need to wait a certain period of time (at least 120 days, depending on the terms of your conviction) before you can pay a $200 reinstatement fee at the Department of Driver Services.
What Can a DUI Be Reduced to in Hall County?
DUIs are typically reduced to misdemeanor driving charges such as reckless driving. While it will still result in a criminal record, it usually comes with less severe punishments. For example, you'll get 4 points on your license instead of getting it automatically suspended like you would with a DUI.
What Is the Best Case Scenario for a DUI Case?
The best case scenario for a DUI case is that you're either proven not guilty or your case is dismissed. In both scenarios you won't have a criminal record, a jail sentence, and all of the other punishments that come with a DUI conviction. Once the case is closed, you won't have to deal with it anymore.